The Beastie Twitter-Verse

Image

Google Images

Please note I am not a professional writer. I only write for the fun of it.

____________________________

For the past seven or so years, I have been an avid Facebook user. I was always updating my statuses on Facebook every hour or so. It was completely insane! I could make up any excuse and say I was using Facebook as a shield when I needed to talk to someone so I could avoid any awkward face-to-face confrontation. Now, I still use FB from time to time, yet not as much as I did when I started.

A year or so ago, I heard that my sister got a Twitter account and she was ALWAYS posting to it. Of course, I simply rolled my eyes at Twitter. I mean, come on. What exactly was soooo great about Twitter?

So, last summer, I finally decided to conform to modern social networking and created myself a Twitter account. I mean, I have a MySpace (which I haven’t seen since five or so years ago) so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to have a Twitter account either.

When I first started using Twitter, I did NOT see the magical essence everyone apparently was fantasizing about. I mean, what was so special about posting tweets with a word limit? At least Facebook has games to play. I was expecting Twitter to have games but no; it was a simple social networking site.

Then one day, shortly after CW’s Beauty and the Beast premiered in the United States, I read an online interview of Jay Ryan. When I read that he had a legit Twitter account, it was like Cinderella’s fairy godmother bopping me over the head with her magical wand and saying: “Bibbidy Bobbidy Boo!” That’s when my Fan-Girl button was pushed and I immediately started checking my Twitter EVERYDAY to see if he posted anything. At first, I would just eyeball his Tweets but never reply, favorite or re-tweet. Why is that? I don’t know but think about it this way: If I was too shy to simply RT Jay’s Tweets, I can’t fathom how I would act if I were to ever meet him. I’d probably freeze like a deer in front of headlights.

Okay, in case you haven’t figured this out, I am a crazed fan-girl for CW’s Beauty and the Beast. I can assure you I have most definitely joined the “Jay Ryan/Vincent Keller Visual Appreciation Club” at the start of the season. It’s amazing how one person’s Twitter account can change another person’s view of Twitter altogether! It’s downright magic, I tell you!

Then, when the PCA event took place, I really started using Twitter. I supported BatB as much as possible by Tweeting and Retweeting and voting. I went from having 4 followers (a few friends from high school) to having almost 130 followers within 2 months!

When I saw how diligent Austin Basis was with Twitter; the fact that he would take the time out of his most-likely already busy schedule to favorite, reply and/or Retweet every Beastie Tweet addressed to him, I finally realized how enjoyable Twitter actually was. I started checking it on a daily basis rather than once or so a week. I’ve met so many people who share the same love for Beauty and the Beast and continue to do so! I enjoy reading other Tweets concerning the television show because for one, it gives me something to do during my day when homework is slim and two, it is interesting to see how BatB is affecting the world. Yes, I said world.

I have to admit, because of ALL of my BatB related Tweets on Twitter, I had to disconnect the tweets from my Facebook because it was getting a little hard for my FB friends to find my non-BatB posts. Anyways, I guess what this little story comes down to is that I am proud to have conformed to Twitter when I did or else I wouldn’t have had the joy in meeting all of my new Beastie family members—the Beastie Twitter Verse. The best way for a Beastie to prove his or her love is to join the family and become a part of something, I believe, will one day be a television historical movement.

Are you willing to Beast-out for the sake of Beauty and the Beast?

CW’s Beauty and the Beast airs on Thursdays @ 9/8c. If you want to catch up on BatB, buy it on iTunes for $20 or view the provided episodes on the CW BatB website: http://cwtv.com/shows/beauty-and-the-beast/

The cast and crew try their hardest (if they are not working of course) to live-Tweet during the airing of BatB each Thursday! The Twitter trend is: #BatB when trending BatB.

Rules of Trending:

ONE TREND COUNTS PER TWEET!

Sooooo…if you want to include other trends, MAKE SURE to have #BatB as the first trend! 🙂

If you would like to follow any of the Beauty and the Beast cast & crew, here are their Twitter usernames:

Jay Ryan → @JayRyan

Austin Basis → @AustinBasis

Kristin Kreuk → @MsKristinKreuk

Nina Lisandrello → @NinaLisandrello

Brian White → @actorbrianwhite

Nicole Anderson → @HeyItsNicoleA

Max Brown → Does not have a Twitter Account 😥

BatB Writers → @BatBwriters

Don’t forget to tune in to Beauty and the Beast this Thursday for an EPIC episode: Tough Love

I hear it will to be an episode worth re-watching so either set your DVRs or buy it on iTunes to help bring the series a second season and heck, help bring it MANY seasons because the cast and crew certainly deserve it due to their extraordinary hard-work and dedication to the Beastie-verse!

Leave a Reply

