It Only Takes a Second

This is an essay I wrote two years ago for my college class and I think it is important for people to read this piece.

It Only Takes One Second

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

                                                                                                –Jeremiah 29:11

People who barely know me do not know I have a twin sister. She and I are like two peas in a pod—inseparable. Although we go to two different colleges, it does not take away from the time we have shared with one another in the past. She is my best friend and will always be despite our constant bickering. I had often thought what life would have been like if I wasn’t born a twin. Since last weekend, I wouldn’t want anything different. She is my twin and we are connected in a way no other sibling is and that is how it should be. We have done everything together up until college. Now we are trying to find our own individualities. My life could have been different early Saturday Morning, February 11, 2012, when my sister almost died in a car wreck. I don’t know what I would have done without her. God has a plan for everyone. He knows when each person is born into the world as well as leaving the world. He knows and only He knows.  Life is fragile and can be taken away less than a second. In less than a second, someone’s world could be flipped upside-down. Thankfully mine wasn’t….

It was strange…

Normally, on a Saturday morning, I wake up around 8:30 AM but, for some unknown reason, I woke up around 10 AM on February 11th, 2012. I went downstairs and noticed my dad was making breakfast, so I said, “Woke up late too?”

Unfortunately, his answer was not what I expected….

He said, “Not really…You’re sister was in a car accident early this morning.”

I swore my heart skipped a beat.

“Is she okay?” I asked him but he instead of saying ‘Yes’ or ‘No,’ he says, “She’s in the family room with your mother.”

Fearing the worst, I ran into the family room and saw my sister hugging my mother for dear life. When I saw her, a weird sensation washed over me.

I say the only thing I could think of at the time. “Are you okay?!” When she doesn’t answer, I ask again as I start crying. Let me tell you one thing, it was the weirdest cry in the world. It certainly wasn’t a graceful cry or a quiet one; I can’t really describe it in any other word except for ‘weird.’

My sister can attest to that (she loves to rub it in every once in a while when we look back to that horrible day).

Luckily, she did not have to go to the hospital and only escaped with minor bruising and cuts. You could call it luck, but I call it God. If it weren’t for His protection, she would not be here this very moment and my life would have flipped upside-down. She doesn’t particularly remember what happened; only that it was snowing in great multitudes and couldn’t see the road. She realized she was off the road when the wheels hit a gravel driveway. By the time it took her to escape this death trap, it was too late. Assuming from the damage of the car, it rolled down the hill and crashed into an electric pole. The car was completely totaled. Her purse had flown out and fortunately landed somewhere safe. Her glasses were destroyed from the impact but thankfully she wasn’t. From what she told me, the pole snapped in half and the house she was near lost electricity. Thankfully, the house’s family heard the crash and called the police. They even offered her to come in out of the cold but she was too panicked to try anything but get out of the vehicle and call home. Luckily she didn’t get electrified when getting out of the vehicle.

We received a call around 2 A.M. in the morning. My mother just knew it was Kristen. Daddy answered it and Kristen sounded hysterical! He called the city police and headed out for my sister. Mom couldn’t go because she was still recovering from her surgery and my brother and I were asleep. They didn’t want to wake us and lose the sleep we college kids desperately needed. Our city police called back and said that officers were already at the scene taking care of it. Thank goodness! It took four hours for the mess to be cleaned up and the road was completely blocked off. She did not need to see a medic but only needed to come home to be with her family because we almost lost her that morning.

When I asked her what happened, this is what she said:

I was driving along Scott Troy Road and could barely see anything. If I knew the roads were going to get this bad, I would have either stayed the night at a friend’s house or have come home early. I knew the instant I was off the road when I felt gravel under the tires. All I remember is hitting a poll and then rolling down a hill. I cannot tell you word for word what was happening because, in reality, it happened way too fast. I just remember seeing the pole and the impact. Luckily, I didn’t hit the house behind it but, instead, ended up taking out their electricity. I thought I was going to die.

Kristen was thankful she didn’t die that morning. Later in the day, around noon, my dad and my sister went to the tow truck place to retrieve all items they could find that were in the car. The tow trucker said the exact same thing the police had said early in the morning. “I have never seen an accident this bad where the driver has walked away alive.” Three of the four corners were completely destroyed. The only corner unscathed was the corner with the gas tank. That is a complete miracle! It only takes one second for someone’s world to end. That’s how fast life can be taken away. I’m just glad it wasn’t her time yet. Like I said, God has a plan for everyone. He knows every single living person’s life span. I just thank the Lord that it wasn’t Kristen’s time to leave. He still has a plan for her. Logic says there was no way she should have survived. But I’m glad she did.

_____________________________________

ImageImageImageImage

One thought on “It Only Takes a Second

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your story. I too have a sister (not a twin), we’re a year apart in age, but we’ve been inseparable since babies. We even work in the same office, though we live very separate lives. We’ve both had our brushes with near death and thanked God for seeing us through. Our bonds have grown even stronger since our oldest sister passed away from a sudden heart attack less than a year ago. Life without her has been difficult but we cherish and celebrate our memories of her. We are all only the memories we leave behind. Make every one count.

Leave a Reply

